The spotlight shone once again – virtually – on chemical engineering graduate students who put their best foot, and research promotion, forward, in the annual Perfect Pitch competition.

Perfect Pitch features Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering graduate students delivering brief summaries of their research in timed, three-minute presentations – all designed to provide practice in quickly sharing the important aspects of their projects with people who may not be scientists – the classic “elevator speech.”

Fourteen students who have completed their preliminary exams presented their work to an audience of their peers and department judges in a virtual event. Judging of the presentations focused on:

  • What is the real-life problem your research addresses?
  • How does your approach uniquely solve the problem?
  • What is the potential impact if your research is successful?
  • Quality of the visual aid and overall presentation style were also considered

The student researchers vied for the top three positions (with monetary rewards) determined by voting of the judges. Those honors go to:

  • First place: Ben Schlichtmann, Novel Theranostics for Parkinson’s Disease
  • Second place: Bradley Ryan, Nanostructured Silicon for Next-Generation Optoelectronic Devices
  • Third place, Sean Rollag, Intensified Sugar Production From Fast Pyrolysis

Schlichtmann receives a cash prize of $150, Ryan receives $100 and $50 goes to Rollag.

Ben Schlichtmann and research slide
Ben Schlichtmann and his research slide
Bradley Ryan and research slide
Bradley Ryan and his research slide
Sean Rollag with research slide
Sean Rollag and his research slide


1 2 3 5
May 9th, 2022

Jedidiah Chukwusom: College of Engineering outstanding senior representing chemical engineering

Jedidiah Chukwusom is the spring 2022 outstanding senior in chemical engineering. The post Jedidiah Chukwusom: College of Engineering outstanding senior […]

April 26th, 2022

Chemical engineering grad student, Abigail Koep, awarded Graduate Research Fellowship from prestigious NSF program

Abigail Koep, entered the chemical and biological engineering Ph.D. program in 2022 and is one of only three ISU students […]

April 14th, 2022

Cyclone pride! CBE’s AIChE chapter hosts conference; Chem-E-Car winning streak rolls on

Iowa State’s student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) hosted the group’s Mid-America Regional Conference April 8 […]

April 12th, 2022

Major CBE supporter, department grad Harold Wiggers passes away

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering alumnus and major department supporter Harold Wiggers passed away March 26 at the age […]

April 8th, 2022

CBE’s Reuel is witness in congressional review of small business initiatives

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE) associate professor and Jack R. and Carol A. Johnson Faculty Fellow Nigel Reuel […]

April 5th, 2022

Chemical and Biological Engineering alum, major department supporter “Barney” Baxter passes away

One of the most ardent supporters of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE), Reginald R. “Barney” Baxter, has […]

March 22nd, 2022

CBE’s AIChE student group to host regional conference at Iowa State in April

The chemical engineering spotlight will shine brightly on the Iowa State University campus April 8-10. That’s when the Department of […]

February 23rd, 2022

NOBCChE: A History of Embedding Diversity into STEM

The National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) has acted as a beacon of […]

February 18th, 2022

CBE’s Bardhan, Nanovaccine Institute cohort Phillips, receive Barry award for cancer research

The research team of Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering associate professor Rizia Bardhan and professor of veterinary microbiology Gregory […]

February 14th, 2022

CBE’s Mallapragada, Narasimhan elected AIChE fellows

CBE’s Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, Carol Vohs Johnson Chair and Iowa State Associate Vice President for Research Surya […]