Karen Devora-Cigarroa, a senior in civil engineering, and Linnea Dawley, a senior in chemical engineering, received the Alliant Energy/ Erroll B Davis Jr. Achievement Award.

This award honors the outstanding scholarship and community service of undergraduate students from traditionally underrepresented minority groups.

“To me, receiving this award is a reminder to myself that everything I have done in my college career including my academic studies and my involvement on campus has made an impact on myself, my school, and others. Being a recipient of this award has inspired and motivated me to continue to work towards my career goals and that I can achieve anything I set my mind to. This award also gives me hope for people of color in the engineering field. As a minority, having the support from Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. means a lot to me. This award opens doors to a very supportive community that I am honored to now be a part of,” Dawley said.

“As a first-generation student and the oldest of five children, scholarships such as the Alliant Energy/ Erroll B. Davis Jr. Achievement Award makes pursuing my dreams a reality. Without financial assistance, I do not think it would be possible for me to attend a four-year institution while also taking advantage of the extracurricular opportunities Iowa State University offers. It is comforting to know that someone else out there believes in you and your potential and I hope to be able to do the same for someone else in my shoes one day,” Devora-Cigarroa said.

Alliant Energy established the award to recognize and honor Erroll B. Davis, Jr., former CEO of Alliant Energy. The two students will be honored April 21st at the 2021 Virtual Annual Diversity Catalyst Awards in conjunction with the University of Iowa’s Annual Diversity Catalyst Awards.




1 2 3 5
May 9th, 2022

Jedidiah Chukwusom: College of Engineering outstanding senior representing chemical engineering

Jedidiah Chukwusom is the spring 2022 outstanding senior in chemical engineering. The post Jedidiah Chukwusom: College of Engineering outstanding senior […]

April 26th, 2022

Chemical engineering grad student, Abigail Koep, awarded Graduate Research Fellowship from prestigious NSF program

Abigail Koep, entered the chemical and biological engineering Ph.D. program in 2022 and is one of only three ISU students […]

April 14th, 2022

Cyclone pride! CBE’s AIChE chapter hosts conference; Chem-E-Car winning streak rolls on

Iowa State’s student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) hosted the group’s Mid-America Regional Conference April 8 […]

April 12th, 2022

Major CBE supporter, department grad Harold Wiggers passes away

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering alumnus and major department supporter Harold Wiggers passed away March 26 at the age […]

April 8th, 2022

CBE’s Reuel is witness in congressional review of small business initiatives

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE) associate professor and Jack R. and Carol A. Johnson Faculty Fellow Nigel Reuel […]

April 5th, 2022

Chemical and Biological Engineering alum, major department supporter “Barney” Baxter passes away

One of the most ardent supporters of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE), Reginald R. “Barney” Baxter, has […]

March 22nd, 2022

CBE’s AIChE student group to host regional conference at Iowa State in April

The chemical engineering spotlight will shine brightly on the Iowa State University campus April 8-10. That’s when the Department of […]

February 23rd, 2022

NOBCChE: A History of Embedding Diversity into STEM

The National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) has acted as a beacon of […]

February 18th, 2022

CBE’s Bardhan, Nanovaccine Institute cohort Phillips, receive Barry award for cancer research

The research team of Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering associate professor Rizia Bardhan and professor of veterinary microbiology Gregory […]

February 14th, 2022

CBE’s Mallapragada, Narasimhan elected AIChE fellows

CBE’s Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, Carol Vohs Johnson Chair and Iowa State Associate Vice President for Research Surya […]