AMES, Iowa — Four Iowa State University students have been named 2023 Goldwater Scholars.

The prestigious Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering in the United States. The scholarships are awarded by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation to encourage outstanding undergraduate students to pursue careers in STEM research.

The foundation on Friday awarded a total of 413 new scholarships this year from a pool of 1,267 applicants representing 427 institutions. Universities typically are limited to four endorsed candidates each year. The selection of all four of Iowa State’s nominees underscores the academic strength of this year’s pool, said John Milstead, coordinator of nationally competitive awards.

Iowa State’s 2023 Goldwater Scholars are:
    •    Daniel Howell, junior in chemistry from Cumming, plans to obtain a Ph.D. in biochemistry and conduct research on producing industrial chemicals from plant biomass.
    •    Victoria Kyveryga, junior in chemical engineering from Ames, plans on completing a Ph.D. in materials engineering to lead research into thermoelectric materials.
    •    Nicholas Oldham, sophomore in materials engineering from Rochester, Minnesota, plans to earn a Ph.D. in sustainable energy materials with the goal of advancing carbon-neutral technology and methods.
    •    Henry Thomas, junior in chemistry from Rockford, Illinois, plans to pursue a Ph.D. in chemistry to develop solutions that allow for the efficient recycling of nuclear material.

The scholarships cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year. One-year scholarships are available to juniors, and two-year scholarships are available to sophomores.

Students who wish to apply must complete an application process, and a selection committee determines the university’s endorsed candidates. Iowa State’s Goldwater Scholarship Campus Committee included Milstead; Kent Kerby, assistant dean in the ISU College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Gloria Starns, associate teaching professor of mechanical engineering; Eric Underbakke, associate professor of biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology; and Svitlana Zbarska, undergraduate research coordinator.

Research, scholarship opportunities

Students interested in applying for the Goldwater Scholarship should contact John Milstead, coordinator of nationally competitive awards, at learn more about undergraduate research opportunities, contact Svitlana Zbarska, undergraduate research coordinator, at


1 2 3 5
June 11th, 2024

Sullivan Flynn: The right people in his corner 

Sophomore Sullivan Flynn came to Iowa State excited to experience something bigger than himself while also having a group of […]

June 11th, 2024

Mary Thatcher: Prepared for what’s next 

For many students, it can be challenging to determine what path to take. Iowa State’s Chemical and Biological Systems Engineering […]

May 31st, 2024

“No other course is like this:” New class allows chemical engineering students to explore product development

One of the student teams in the initial semester of CH E 4290 poses with the portable oven they developed […]

May 1st, 2024

Victoria Kyveryga: Outstanding senior in chemical engineering

Hometown Ames, Iowa Clubs and activities Ukrainian Club, Engineering Student Council, the Undergraduate Research Ambassadors group, and Central Iowa Symphony.  […]

March 11th, 2024

Wenzhen Li, Jean-Philippe Tessonnier become Royal Society of Chemistry Fellows

Wenzhen Li (left) and Jean-Philippe Tessonnier have become part of an elite group of scientific advocates in the Royal Society […]

March 1st, 2024

“Spirit of innovation” helps lift Jean-Philippe Tessonnier to National Academy of Inventors

Jean-Philippe Tessonnier, Richard C. Seagrave Professor in Chemical and Biological Engineering, has been named a Senior Member of the National […]

February 26th, 2024

Could the future of powering Iowa homes and farms be microbes?

Cyclone Engineer Ratul Chowdhury is advancing biobatteries that use microbes to turn trees and plants into electricity. Chowdhury, an assistant […]

February 13th, 2024

A better way to (re)harvest rare-earth metals

Rare-earth metals are an indispensable part of today’s high-tech consumer products. As demand for them increases, so does the need […]

December 12th, 2023

Mya O’Connell: Outstanding senior in chemical engineering

Hometown  Manly, Iowa  Clubs and activities  I work as a Resident Assistant and as a Peer Mentor. In the past, […]

November 16th, 2023

AIChE student chapter again records successes at annual meeting – including another Outstanding Student Chapter honor

The Outstanding Student Chapter award is presented at the meeting. Shown is AIChE student chapter representative Hailey Bates (center), ISU […]